House Democratic Panel Recommends Waxman for Energy Chairmanship; Boehner Reelected Minority Leader

    By a narrow margin, a House Democratic advisory committee recommended Rep. Henry A. Waxman (Calif.) to be the next chairman of the Energy and Commerce Committee, rejecting the current chairman, Rep. John D. Dingell (Mich.), who has been a longtime ally of the now-struggling auto industry.